MENU

Sex Offender Notices

The New York State Sex Offender Registration Act took effect on January 21, 1996 and requires offenders convicted of a sex offense to register as a sex offender with the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services (NYSDCJS).  Sex Offenders who move to New York State must register with the NYSDCJS within 10 days.

There are three Levels of sex offenders.  Based on the nature of the crime and the potential for reoccurrence, a Judge designates the appropriate risk category for each offender. They are as follows:

Level 1:  Low risk of re-offense and must register for a minimum of 20 years.  Depending on the individual circumstances, some Level 1 Offenders may be required to register for life

Level 2:  Medium risk of re-offense and must register for life

Level 3:  High risk of re-offense and must register for life


Longwood Central School District does not provide information on sex offenders who live outside of the boundaries of the community that we serve.  Our district is committed to providing the most up-to-date information regarding Level 1 Sex Offenders in order to keep you well informed. Level 2 & 3 Offenders are listed on the NYS public directory

‚ÄčT
o inquire about specific individuals, including Level 1 offenders, you may contact the NYS Division of Criminal Justice Service Sex Offender Registry at 1-800-262-3257.

The link below contains valuable information provided by the Parents for Megan's Law and the Crime Victims Center

http://www.parentsformeganslaw.org/


See the corresponding tabs for additional information


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.